De Smet, South Dakota

City of De Smet, South Dakota Official Website
City Hall, De Smet South Dakota

Welcome to De Smet, South Dakota!

The City of De Smet, SD was platted by the CN&W Railroad in 1880 and incorporated in 1883. The city operates under the Aldermanic form of government with a 7 member council, consisting of an elected Mayor and six Aldermen. Each Alderman is elected for a two-year term (Two Aldermen are elected from each of the 3 city wards).

The City Council meets in regular session at City Hall on the second Wednesday of each month (5 pm).  Special council meetings are scheduled as needed throughout the year and posted 24 hours in advance.  City Council meetings are open to the public.  If you or a group wishes to address the council, please contact City Hall in advance of the council meeting to schedule time on the meeting agenda.

City Staff

The city staff works hard to accommodate the needs of the city and its residents. Please contact us for more information or with questions regarding the city.

Tracey Larson, Finance Officer
Karen Hansen, Deputy Finance Officer
Randy Asleson, Water & Wastewater Supt.
Ryan Petersen, Streets/Airport/Restricted Use Site Supt.
Curt Bau, Asst. Streets/Airport/Restricted Use Site Supt.
Charlie Stoddard, Buildings/Parks/Pool Supt.

City of De Smet, South Dakota
106 Calumet Avenue, PO Box 70
De Smet, SD 57231
Office: (605) 854-3731

News & Updates

No Results to Display

Latest From Calendar

Rubble Site Open

Baseball Game Night

City Council Meeting

View Calendar

City Council Minutes

April 11, 2018 Minutes (PDF)

March 14, 2018 Minutes (PDF)

View More

City Council Agenda

May 29, 2018 Special Meeting Agenda (PDF)

Useful Links

Event Center Roller Skating Waiver (PDF)

Election Information


Copyright © 2015-2018 City of De Smet, SD & it's licensors.